Library Coolness: Library Live and On Tour!

I don’t usually post on Fridays, but Lyra’s husband found this and Lyra sent it to me and I had to share it with you.

According to a recent article on Boing Boing, the Fraser Valley Regional Library in British Colombia decided they didn’t need a bookmobile—they needed a “mobile initiative to promote adult literacy.”

So they nabbed a grant and pimped up a Nissan Cube, multi-media style:

We have got to get one of these.

I’ll drive!

_____________

(thanks, Lyra’s husband!)

8 thoughts on “Library Coolness: Library Live and On Tour!

    • Libraries are too careful about their patron’s privacy for reality TV (or they should be), but I’d be completely behind an Office-like sitcom!

      Let’s do it. 🙂

  1. When I was in college, I worked for a pharmacy and sometimes drove deliveries of prescriptions around in what I called “The Drug Mobile.” But a Library Mobile?? Even better! Love it.

  2. Was browsing around, following links from fvrl.bc.ca, got sucked into the rabbit hole, ended up here. I like it. I work for FVRL and am constantly amazed at the diversity of the folks who are talking about LiLi.
    As for the comments about a library reality series or “office” like spin-off, could be fun. Met my husband at the library, gave him his first Harry Potter novel and he took me to see the movie. The rest, well, history in the making.

    • Hi, Janine!

      LiLi is awesome! I’ve forwarded the clips an articles to our new Director and programming manager in the hopes we can do something similar someday (economy willing).

      We could fill up years’ worth of episodes with library stories both weird and wonderful, couldn’t we? 😀

Talk to me!

