“So, how’s the writing going?”

Jane Writing2(Jane’s World is the brainchild of the extremely talented  Paige Braddock.)

This past week, my usual routine has gone a little like this:  I sit down after the kids go to bed, go over my last few paragraphs to get back in the groove, and start hitting the keyzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz………………….

Sorry, what was I talking about?

Sometimes, I suspect my keyboard is made of topical Ambien.*

Maybe this the aftermath of Nano, maybe it’s a response to holiday stress.  Or it might be time to mix up the methods a little, go manual for a while, try the kitchen for a change of scenery.

Or I could try going to bed earlier.**

I’ve always written until I dropped.  Problem is, now I’m writing after I drop, which doesn’t seem to be working so well.

So I’m placing myself on experimental curfew—pencils and/or pixels down at ten-thirty p.m. by the latest.

This means ignoring Facebook, Twitter, bloogfeeds, and even e-mail earlier, too.

I figure it’ll be a breeze, once the withdrawal pains taper off.

Wish me luck.

__________________________________

*Side effects may include memory disturbances, hallucinations, and mild behavioral changes.  Yeah, that works.

**That sizzling sound you just heard was my entire family shooting me meaningful looks with a side over of righteous impatience, because they’ve told me this.  Often.

13 thoughts on ““So, how’s the writing going?”

  1. Your blog post title is a reminder to me NOT to tell people that I write!

    Good luck with the curfew. I’m wondering when your inner teenager will rebel against it.

    • Admitting to people that I do this crazy thing was, to me, a brave act. Continuing to insist that I’m a writer despite [fill in the blank] is a continuing act of defiance.

      And, yeah, she will: “Just one more sentence . . . “

  2. I am so with you, Sarah. I’ve gotten in this horrible loop of falling asleep when I lay down with M., my disco nap, and then wake up too groggy to write, but too stubborn to sleep. Downith must know my inner teenager.
    Maybe it’s a new year thing. Go to bed earlier so that I don’t pass out when I put the boys down and can get a quality hour in…
    That could work, right?
    Why do I feel like I’m lying to myself…

    • Because resolutions are nothing more than good intentions? And we’ve trained ourselves to put everything else first? And that being gentle with ourselves is slacking?

  3. Is this anything like staying up to watch the second airing of the new episode of ‘Leverage’ last night, even though I have saved the original airing on my DVR and can watch it whenever I want, and now I don’t want to get up to go to work? Yeah. Never happens to me. At least you have the excuse that you are working!
    I did, however, manage to get a full 8 hours of sleep last Friday night. I can’t remember the last time I had that much sleep in one night.

    • Exactly like that, except I was finishing up Poetry Wednesday after the first show, which I also recorded.

      We we actually separated at birth, Odie? Or do we just share an Archetype?

  4. Everyone needs sleep, Sarah. Even Batman (let’s ignore the fictional part; to me, he’s real) and he’s working with maybe as many allies as you are & a utility belt…OK, this could be *my* tired talking, but as you’ve always been able to see my meaning, I’m sure you understand. I wish you luck & success with you newly minted (deserved, needed, necessary) curfew.

Talk to me!

