Weekend Writing Warriors: Full Metal Librarian (Emotional Hook)

We WriWa bannerHave a WIP, an EIP, an MS, or a published work you want to share on your blog, eight sentences at a time?

Want to sample other people’s WIPs, EIPs, MSs, or published works, eight sentences at a time?

Be a Weekend Writing Warrior!

Rules are here!

List of participants is here!

________________________

I’m really pleased at the reaction people are having to the bits I’m sharing of this story—especially last week, when my badass librarian warrior not only fell apart, but let someone else hold her together for a little while. Β  Β Thank you all so much for your comments!

This passage is separated from last Sunday’s by a sentence I decided to cut anyway.

Blue Cyber-hook

Charlie handed me a wet cloth and I pressed it against my hot, swollen face for a long moment, before letting him pull me to my feet and lead me out of the bathroom.

Reynard was leaning against the opposite wall.

“I hope you got all that,” I told him, almost too wrung out to stand. “Good emotional hook.”

“Alas,” he said, touching the side of his lens, “a missed opportunity.”

I blinked at him, then realized that there was no glow from the red lights on his implants. I reached out and touched his arm. “Thank you.”

44 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: Full Metal Librarian (Emotional Hook)

    • It means he isn’t recording, which is good for her, but questionable for a Pressman. It may be a sign that she’s become more important to him than his story. . .

    • Great! I’m glad you like it!

      If you search “Full Metal Librarian” on this site, you should get a year full of Six Sentence Sundays, too. Not sure what order they’ll be in, but they’re numbered.

    • That’s it, exactly, Virginia. πŸ™‚

      And no, it’s nowhere near published—though I’m beginning to have hopes. It’s actually drawer novel I decided to share in the off chance it was salvageable. The consensus sees to be that it is . . . but it needs a lot of editing first. Ain’t it always the way?

  1. I”m guessing the lack of a red glow meant he turned off his receptors in her “weak” moment, perhaps out of respect. Just a wild guess. I like the concept of a badass librarian…a lot!

    • You guessed right, Claire! πŸ˜€

      I wish sometimes we were allowed to use cattle prods at my library . . . just at closing time. And maybe on those people who hog the god microfilm machines. And talk loudly on their cell phones. And . . . ahem, cough. Never mind.

    • It’s definitely a moment, Sarah. She’s feared revealing herself to the Press all her life. That one wouldn’t take advantage of it is game changing.

    • Yeah, the motivations of this bit are set waaay back in the beginning and I didn’t explain who Reynard was. Sorry! Glad you liked it anyway. πŸ™‚

  2. For Reynard to be so plugged in, he is so human. And so lovable. The detachment is a shell–a shiny, bad-ass shell, and beneath it? Something even more complex than his wiring. I just want a whole book about him. Please?

    • You know . . . maybe. I have three chapters and an outline of a Press Corps oriented story, but I’m not sure i want to go inside his head—he may be one of those characters who needs to be interpreted?

      But an origin story is so tempting . . .

  3. Nice. Friendship comes in many forms, but that one is the best. Great snippet, Sarah. πŸ™‚

  4. So he’s not recording her? She’s obviously relieved in the last sentence, but she expected him to record, right? That’s his job. Nice subtlety to this! Well done!

Talk to me!

