Weekend Writing Warriors: The Anti-Cupids (Maintenance Policies )

We WriWa bannerHave a WIP, an EIP, an MS, or a published work you want to share on your blog, eight sentences at a time?

Want to sample other people’s WIPs, EIPs, MSs, or published works, eight sentences at a time?

Be a Weekend Writing Warrior!

Rules are here!

List of participants is here!

________________________

I’m skipping ahead a few paragraphs so Jack can compare his opinion of Kirsten—our bridezilla—to his first impression of Viv, our severely caffeine-deprived heroine:

Wicker Laundry Basket - Storage - Home Accessories

Viv took a third piece of cake, leaned back, and appeared to be studying Bibi, though it was possible she’d dozed off behind her glasses.

He didn’t have sunglasses, so Jack staved off a yawn and did a little idle study of his own.  If someone had challenged him to pick Kirsten’s sister out of a lineup, he wouldn’t have chosen the woman next to him.

Kirsten was an ingénue type, with hair down to there, legs up to here, a swan-like neck, and the fashion sense to make it all look even better.  She was as lovely as an advertisement for flowered sundresses, and deceptively, relentlessly high-maintenance.

Viv’s hair was a light brown mass of springs and cowlicks, and the layered outfit that encased her from walking boots and ankle-length skirt to oxford-covered crew neck looked like she’d assembled it quickly out of a basket of unfolded laundry.  

So either she was low-maintenance or not looking to be maintained. 

Or, he thought, hungover.

___________________

She’s not hungover no, but the laundry was a good guess.

I don’t know enough, yet, to comment on Viv’s maintenance levels—but I’m fairly certain it would tick her off if she found out someone was trying to judge them.

And look, I finally found a relevant image that wasn’t cake!  Oddly enough, it doesn’t make me want to do laundry . . .

_____

non-cake photo credit: Wickerfurniture

44 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: The Anti-Cupids (Maintenance Policies )

    • He’s right about Kirsten, Elaine. We’ll see about Viv . . .

      The only thing that inspires me to do laundry is the risk of going to work in the nude, or sending the kids to school in their swimsuits! 😀

  1. There is so much you can tell about a women by simply observing her, but there’s also a lot you can miss. I wonder if he’ll find be curious enough to find out more about Viv. I’m guessing she’s sleeping too, lol. Great descriptions

    • I hope Viv’s more interesting, Carrie-Anne, or I’ll have to rethink the rest of my outline. 😀

      And me, too—though I do fold my laundry. Most of the time.

  2. “as lovely as an advertisement for flowered sundresses”

    Love this! Although, if I saw a woman who matched this description I’d automatically assume her maintenance level was somewhere above mid-range. 🙂

    Cool pic too! Great idea but in my world at least one cat would claim it and I’d toss the laundry on the floor so they wouldn’t have to get up.

    • Thanks, Charley! That’s exactly the reaction I wanted. 🙂

      My cat prefers to crawl under the comforter on the bed and complain when we flop on him. 😀

  3. By the way he is assessing her and the conclusions he is drawing, it seems he is over-sure of himself. Good snippet.

  4. I loved this snippet. And the last lines “So either she was low-maintenance or not looking to be maintained. Or, he thought, hungover.” 🙂
    I really like him. And, although we don’t know much about her yet, I bet she’s got a laundry basket full of attitude that Jack is just going to love! Maybe he’ll help her fold. 😉

  5. The only thing that inspires me to do laundry is lack of clean underwear. I love the descriptions, though. (Although I think I might be uncomfortably close to Viv in dressing and fashion sense…)

    • Thanks, Paula.

      I’m with you on the inspiration and Viv’s fashion sense. Then again, she did get dressed in under five minutes, without coffee, so we should probably cut her some slack. 🙂

    • Thanks, Averil. 😀

      It didn’t occur to me that our male MC’s have the same name . . . they’re such different people, I guess I didn’t notice!

      I’m pretty sure all Viv is gonna try to manipulate this one into doing is paying for her coffee. But I’m only 20K in . . . 😉

Talk to me!

