Signs of an Organized Mind

Let’s do a logic puzzle:

Stipulated:

A messy desk is supposed to be the sign of an organized mind.

Librarians are supposed to be really good at organization.

Blogs offer insights into the workings of the writer’s mind.

I am the writer for this particular blog.

I am also a librarian.

If these things are true, then:

Is my workspace messy or organized?

Is my mind messy or organized?

Time’s up.

Yeah—trick question:

Organized Mind--Left

Featuring forms, photocopies, legal pads, thank you notes, an Easter Card, part of a photo shrine to my kids, one of several mugsful of writing instruments (not pink feather pen), a small glimpse of a panic button (behind the dandelion sphere), various tchotchkes, my container o’ small pointy office supplies, my new bottle of germkiller, and my Halloween costume.

Organized Mind-Right

Yes, that’s Joss Whedon, framing a scene from my future biopic, as Periwinkle the Frost Fairy waits for me to refill my travel mug.

‘Cause all librarians know that there are many different classification systems out there, and that the definition of organized is perhaps more subjective than most people want to believe.

So there.

Behold, the inspiration for this post* and my go-to justification for the state of my workspace, from a man who once called the Dean’s Office at Princeton University to ask for his own address, because he got lost walking home from campus:

Cluttered Einstein

What’s on YOUR mind today?

___________________________________________

*Not entirely true.  I was actually inspired to write this post because, after owning my smartphone for a year and a half, I finally learned how to send photos from it to my e-mail account (in my defense, the settings had gone all wonky and the guy from the Verizon place had to unwonk them first . . .though it did take about half a year of nagging gentle reminders from Watson and my husband to get me to take it in) and for the first couple of days I took pictures of everything.   And then a friend sent me the Einstein thing just as I needed a post, which just goes to show that serendipity isn’t a bad basis for one’s organization system after all.  See?

16 thoughts on “Signs of an Organized Mind

    • I like the idea of a clean desk but have pretty much given up.

      That’s fourteen years of accumulated nest-building in those photos right there, and tough to overcome . . .

  1. My mother is coming to visit, she’ll be here tonight. I don’t think she’ll appreciate the cluttered desk/full mind explanation, especially if I try to extend that analogy to the rest of the house.

  2. As long as you can find things, it’s organized enough. If you have to spend more than a minute or two looking, that’s where you run into trouble. I think ‘I know where everything is’ is an excellent excuse, assuming it’s true. 🙂

Talk to me!

