Weekend Writing Warriors: Anti -Cupids (Buckets of Love)

We WriWa bannerHave a WIP, an EIP, an MS, or a published work you want to share on your blog, eight sentences at a time?

Want to sample other people’s WIPs, EIPs, MSs, or published works, eight sentences at a time?

Be a Weekend Writing Warrior!

Rules are here!

List of participants is here!

________________________

This Wewriwa was pre-recorded, as I am currently in WiFi-less seclusion with a few good friends watching movies, overeating, and napping writing up a storm, so I’ll have something to post on Sundays.

These eight sentences follow immediately after last week’s, when we found out that David hates raspberries only a little less than he loves Kirsten.  Which is to say, perhaps a little too much:

A plastic yellow bucket.

“That’s so sweet,” Kirsten said.  She cupped his cheek.   “But I couldn’t ask you to do that for me.”

David, predictably, went gooey. “You don’t have to ask—”

“Good,” Viv said, loudly, “because I’m not sure an upchucking groom is the symbol you want eternally representing your wedding.”

Kirsten wrinkled her nose and pulled away from David.  “Vi-iv.”

_________________________

Kirsten totally deserved that.  Or will. Trust me.

I will try to get to everyone today (and post a link in the Snippet Facebook group—could someone help me out, if I haven’t managed?), but since my only commenting tools are a smartphone and clumsy thumbs, I’ll probably be playing catch-up tomorrow afternoon.

39 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: Anti -Cupids (Buckets of Love)

  1. Aww, he’s so sweet! If I didn’t have hints that his bridezilla is a poor choice, I’d totally be rooting for this marriage. …maybe it could work out?

    Love how Viv cuts through the moment by referencing a gross bodily function, though. Perfect sibling interaction!

    • He is, and it could, Caitlin . . . though it’s gonna take some work!

      And thanks—my sister and I don’t pull any punches, either. 🙂

      (how’s Nano going?)

      • Crazy, crazy sibling relationships. (Mom, she’s looking at me funny!)

        It’s going–some days over the average word count, some under, and it’s so far evening out.

        How’s your half NaNo working?

        • Seriously.

          Mine is going about the same as yours, though I managed to pull slightly ahead this weekend, which was essentially Wifi-less. I’m sure that’s just a coincidence. 😉

    • I’m wondering that, too, Linda. I’m going on the assumption that he told her he didn’t like them when they met, but not how severe his dislike was.

      My theory is that people who want to impress other people don’t usually mention the time they threw up on their own shoes . . . But maybe that’s just me? 😀

Talk to me!

