Random Thursday: Wine, Wheaton, and Various Threat Levels

Random Thursday (ˈrandəm ˈTHərzdā): the day on which Sarah plunks down all the odd bits and pieces she’s been sent by friends or has otherwise stumbled upon this week in an effort to avoid writing a real post, the assembly of which usually ends up taking twice as much time as sitting down and creating actual content.

I ran a fever yesterday, which was more exercise than I’ve managed in a week

So I called in sick, sent the kids to school, climbed back into bed, and slept for four hours.  Then I had soup, coffee, and cough meds, turned on the computer, and assembled this in haste before the kids came home.

You’ve been warned.

_____________________

Forget the Stickers and Happy Faces

THIS is a behavior modification chart:

Mommy Threat Level

I think my kids would appreciate an early warning system.

 oooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooo

Subliminal Suggestion or Stockholm Syndrome?

It’s gotta be one or the other, because I know this isn’t true.

Or wasn’t true.

Was it?

Was I so bored I didn’t KNOW I was bored?

I mean, it does explain my adolescent-levels of angst when the WiFi glitches . . .

    oooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooo

Threat Level: Rosé

“Oh, crap!  Mom just grabbed the Pinot Grigo!  Run!  RUN!!!”

Threat Level Wine

 What would Writer Wine Levels be?

Wordcount Reward Shiraz

Query Rejection  Cabernet Franc

Agent Acceptance Champagne

My Editor Hates Me Riesling

Remaindered Mad Dog 20 20

  oooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooo

This may be the fever . . .

 . . . but this trailer gave me cold chills.

CHILLS.

But . . . Is it just me, or does adding Morgan Freeman to any movie
automatically raise the plausibility level?

A drug mule achieving omniscience from ingesting unexplained blue sugar crystals?  Check.

A comet hitting Earth?  Check.

Elderly Black Ops Agents coming out of retirement?  Check.

A variety of alien attacks and also Kevin Costner as Robin Hood?  Check.

A decent remake of Conan the . . . okay, he’s good, but no one is THAT good.

(Yo, Watson—plan a visit around the second week in August, would you?)

 oooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooo

Who?

Different Drummer - Sort of

Not quite.

(thanks, Sherry!

 oooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooo

Where there’s a Wil, there’s a way

Some of you have probably seen this already.
But it’s worth seeing again, and it’s worth spreading around.

 He’s right.

We are doing really well.

 

14 thoughts on “Random Thursday: Wine, Wheaton, and Various Threat Levels

  1. What? You called in sick? Must be nice. I never take off, but I guess that’s just me, y’know? I like to pay my bills–Jay Galloway (just like to give him a hard time–LOL)
    Seriously, feel better soon

    • Thanks, Nancy, I do, a little.

      I hate calling in sick, but if there’s one thing this winter has taught us, it’s to hate the person who brings a new virus into the workplace Petri dish. 😀

      • I hear you, Sarah–I keep telling the real-life Jay Galloway (who, of course, never gets sick) that I don’t want to spread my germs around the office and make other people sick, but does he listen? No! LOL!

  2. That Lucy movie looks ridiculous–we do NOT use only 10% of our brain, for one thing–but it might be amazingly ridiculous.

    And I’m always in for that kind of awesome.

      • Last night was my son’s birthday party. He had three friends to the sleepover. Three LOUD friends.

        My son went to bed at 11 and left them in the living room. At 3am I went out and asked them politely to hold it down, that we were all very tired and couldn’t sleep with all the noise. At 3:30 I went back out, picked up the remote, shut off the video game, and walked out of the room, leaving three stunned 12-year-olds behind me. At 4am I interrupted a Nerf battle to tell them I was about to fucking lose my mind and they had better knock it off before we reached that level. There followed a resentful, cursing-induced silence.

        Now they’re asleep and I am awake and ashamed of myself. And still completely irritated.

        • Don’t feel ashamed—no one is at their best at 4am, and they pushed it to the LIMIT, especially after their hosts went to bed.

          I would have started cursing at 2am.

Talk to me!

