Weekend Writing Warriors: The Anti-Cupids (Eyeroll Omitted)

We WriWa bannerHave a WIP, an EIP, an MS, or a published work you want to share on your blog, eight sentences at a time?

Want to sample other people’s WIPs, EIPs, MSs, or published works, eight sentences at a time?

Be a Weekend Writing Warrior!

Rules are here!

List of participants is here!

_______________________

I have a kid’s birthday party to see to for most of this afternoon, so I’ll try to visit everyone beforehand—but if that doesn’t work, you’ll see me later today, I promise!

_______________

Yes, Jack is still wondering why dating can’t just be about having a good time.

Dennis has an opinion about that.

I removed one eyeroll from this conversation for the sake of the sentence limit—feel free to guess where it goes!

Taxi of Shame

“Settling down with the right person sounds like a good time to me,” Dennis said, applying his eraser.

“Since when?”

“Since I started thinking it might be nice to have someone to come home to, instead of always going home from everyone else.”

Jack stared at him.  “That’s a beautiful thought.”

“Thanks.”

“Can I steal it for the Kreppsler Jewelry bid?”

 “Knock yourself out.”

________________________

That image up there?  It’s the Taxi of Shame, my friends . . . or as Jack might call it, should his Prius ever break down, the Taxi of an Extremely Enjoyable Previous Evening.

(I’ve said it before: I have plans for Dennis.  Plans.)

36 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: The Anti-Cupids (Eyeroll Omitted)

  1. LOL–Love the snippet and the taxi pic. Looks like Dennis is ready to find that special someone. He’d better watch out if he’s planning to fool around in Jay Galloway, “Mr. Short, Dark…& Funny’s”, cab, though. He might get a “Y’know…” or an eyeroll. LOL.

    • Thanks, Charmaine!

      I have the terrible feeling that if my stories were movies and I could fast forward through them, my character would twitch and blink and wink and roll their eyes and stir their coffees until it looked like they all suffered from St. Vitus’ Dance. 🙂

  2. Great dialog. But as a major introvert, “going home from everyone else.” sounds perfect to me! (I really want to read this book and I’m not big on romance. Well done.)

  3. Another great snippet. I want to smack Jack for being so unaware. Dennis just shared something with him and he’s going to use it for a bid without addressing the subtext. This must mean that I’m engaged;).

  4. Enjoyed the conversation, thought it was hilarious how Jack immediately wants to use Dennis’s beautiful thought for a bid they’re working on! Great snippet as always.

  5. Ah, Jack! For a second he sounded sincere, then he’s back to thinking about business. He seems like he’s still stuck in that college-guy mindset. Beer pong and parties and hooking up–and no strings attached.

Talk to me!

