Random Thursday: The Power of Random Thinking

Random Thursday (ˈrandəm ˈTHərzdā): the day on which Sarah plunks down all the odd bits and pieces she’s been sent by friends or has otherwise stumbled upon this week in an effort to avoid writing a real post, the assembly of which usually ends up taking twice as much time as sitting down and creating actual content.

____________________________

Shall We Dance?

Optimism Cha-Cha

If this is true . . . then parenting is sort of a rhumba.
Or a breakdance challenge.

ooooooooooooooooOOOOOoooooooooooooooo

Mock the Head

Mock the Week, a BBC current event quiz show featuring a panel of comedians
—wrangled with limited success by Dara O’Briain—
is one of my favorite things ever.

I have to be careful when I watch it late at night,
because Sunny keeps dreaming that howler monkeys are laughing at her.
Janie just walks in, hands me a box of tissues, and pointedly closes the door behind her.

Braincrush City . . .
And apparently, Mr. O’Briain has plenty of brains to crush on—or room for ’em, anyway.

ooooooooooooooooOOOOOoooooooooooooooo

Library Mystery Theatre

Why did this tumblr image, celebrating the inclusion of Ace Attorney manga in a law library,

Law Library Tumblr Argument1

Provoke this reaction

Law Library Tumblr Argument3

and a lengthy argument between these two ace attorney avatars

Law Library Tumblr Argument4Law Library Tumblr Argument5

that was only resolved by the common sense and keen eye of the person behind this avatar

Law Library Tumblr Argument6

who clearly understands the awesome power of a library catalog?

Click any image (or here) to find out!

ooooooooooooooooOOOOOoooooooooooooooo

Pessimism

You know you’re a pessimist when WordPress tells you your stats are booming today,
and your first thought
is that someone’s legal team is gathering evidence.

ooooooooooooooooOOOOOoooooooooooooooo

Deja Vu

Kidsnippets is a series of scenarios created and voiced by kids and acted by adults.

The results are hilarious . . .  and often eerily accurate.

Replace Dragons with Small Engine Repair in the one a friend sent me (hi, Siobhan!), and this is pretty much a replay of the last time I covered lunch at the main reference desk:

There are more on the Bored Shorts TV channel, if you’re interested,
including a couple of Behind the Scenes vids that are sheer awesome.

10 thoughts on “Random Thursday: The Power of Random Thinking

  1. Dear Sarah W.,

    I am a freelance editor. As you may have noticed it is spring, and at least in my neck of the woods, the sun is out. This is such a marked contrast to the last six weeks, that I am having a hard time staying inside or sitting still. It is very hard to edit while pulling baby maple trees out of my garden or while jumping up every five seconds as if I sat down on an electrical buzzer. Not only is it spring time, you have just provided me with 13.4 hours of major YouTube time sinks. I could lose days following the links you have provided.

    One of the great truths of being a freelance editor is that if you don’t work, you don’t get paid. If you don’t get paid, then you can’t buy food. And if you can’t buy food for yourself, you certainly can’t buy food for your 12-lb. dog who looks a lot like a muppet. A very cute, very appealing muppet who doesn’t eat too much, but does like a good chicken strip now and again.

    If you can’t be considerate of me with all these distractions, please consider my dog.

    Yours very sincerely,

    Indy Clause

    • I adore him—I’ve only seen his shows on YouTube, but they usually reduce me to giggling puddles.

      His video game bit (“Snaaaaaaake!”) gets me every time. 🙂

  2. This was the post for me. Thanks, Sarah. I needed it, especially the card. I may print that one up to boost my own self esteem. Oh, and that Dara is adorable.

Talk to me!

