Random Thursday: From the Library of Random

It’s Random!  It’s Thursday!  It’s . . . you know the drill.

By the time this post is up, I will be at the state library conference, attempting to ingest enough caffeine to compensate for waking up at 4:30am in order to leave the house at 5:30am to get the library van at 6am so my fellow zombies librarians and I can arrive at the conference around eight.

That’s a lot of am to overcome.  Wish me luck.

_________________________

Meet Kuzma

Russian Library Cat

Click the image for more adorable photos and a video.

Kuzma is the new library assistant at a children’s library in Novorossiysk, Russia.

He wears a bow tie and is paid in cat food and skritches.

I’d wear a bow tie, too, if I could sleep on the job . . .

Kuzma, by the way, means “order” and “arrangement”, which isn’t a bad name for a library cat.

Library Cat

We totally would, too.

(I don’t remember who sent me this first, but thank you Dee, Lisa and Vannie!)

ooooooooooooooOOOOOoooooooooooooo

Speaking of Librarians . . .

What did you think we do all day?

Shelve books or something?

(Thanks, ‘firstmausi!)

ooooooooooooooOOOOOoooooooooooooo

All the World’s a Library

You know those Little Free Libraries popping up all over the place?

They just went free range.

BookCrossing Logo

BookCrossing is the equivalent of literary geocaching
or the environmentally sound equivalent of releasing a balloon with a postcard on it.

It’s simple:

Select a book from your own vast collection.

Go to BookCrossing.com and

BookCrossing2

I’m told that there are a couple of  “official” BookCrossing stations around,
but most of the time, people just leave them on buses, street benches, coffee shop tables, airplanes, wherever.

Since I tend to do that anyway, I might as well tag ’em first!

I’ll report the results . . . once I can choose a book.

Who’s with me?

If you try this, let me know how it goes!

ooooooooooooooOOOOOoooooooooooooo

Be Honest

All you library staff out there:

When you’re alone at home, do you do Dewey?

chickendeweys

Or do you just say, “Chuck it”?

Shelf Reading Cat

ooooooooooooooOOOOOoooooooooooooo

Again!  Again!

If only because of Christian Kane’s “fraud” line—if you’re a fan of Leverage, you know why.

I wonder if this show will help fill the hole in my heart where that one used to be.

Nah.

But I’ll bet it finds it’s own place in there somewhere.

8 thoughts on “Random Thursday: From the Library of Random

  1. That shelf reading cat is perfection. If I weren’t so allergic, I’d probably have one for the home library. Or maybe I should just get one of those ‘Librarians’! Am looking forward to the series. I always enjoyed the movies (although not as much the 3rd one). And John Rogers. (’nuff said?)
    ILA is in my hometown! Will be in CR tomorrow (funeral), will you?

    • Or a Rex breed of librarian? 🙂

      John Rogers FTW!!

      I’m not going Friday—I wish I was, but we have teacher conferences. Sooooo looking forward to those. 😛

Talk to me!

