Weekend Writing Warriors: Odd Duck (Eddie)

We WriWa bannerHave a WIP, an EIP, an MS, or a published work you want to share on your blog, eight sentences at a time?

Want to sample other people’s WIPs, EIPs, MSs, or published works, eight sentences at a time?

Be a Weekend Writing Warrior!

Rules are here!

List of participants is here!

________

Or if you’re a fellow Facebook addict (we can quit any time we want to, right?),
why not check out the offerings of the Snippet Sunday gang?

________

I’m still typing up my nanoduck, which is slower going than I’d anticipated. This is partially the fault of work, which has uncharacteristically knocked the stuffing out of me this week, and partially Other Priority Projects.

So I’m not trying to do much editing as I go; the point is to get it all into the same format so I can print it out and have a literal cut-and-paste (or staple) party.  But since I know where the story is going, there are a few things I’ve corrected as I fly past with the speed and grace of Zippy the Safety Snail and some things I’ve actually saved in a special document like the word hoarder I am cut, including a couple of minor characters who don’t do much but give Tom a reason to dump info.

But Eddie, the valet at the snobbish and very expensive Poisson d’Or, is a keeper.  I think he adds a little larcenous patina to Tom’s untold backstory and also does our hero a couple of small solids that are keeping me from testing the readers’ suspension of disbelief regarding coincidences.

I like that in a secondary character.

Eddie may or may not be a Were—he hasn’t mentioned it yet. If he is, I’m guessing he’s probably something ferret-ish?

Cargo

“Tomás!” the valet said. “Got a client, or did you hit the Lotto?”

“Hey, Eddie, what’s the scam?”

“Day job,” he said, with a shrug. “Gotta be somewhere, might as well make a buck.”

That probably meant he was casing the Poisson’s clientele and vehicles for future plans of a less than legal nature, but I let it slide. “Make sure no one takes the dents out of my fender or boosts the hubcap,” I said.

“Be a shame,” he said, gravely.

________________

Tom is driving my car, by the way, though I’ve managed to keep both fenders and all the hubcaps.  Because rust is sort of Nature’s solder, isn’t it?

47 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: Odd Duck (Eddie)

  1. Fun snippet!

    But this… This was the best part: “saved in a special document like the word hoarder I am” — I’m so glad to know that I’m not the only one who does things like that.

    • Thanks, Frank!

      Eddie isn’t fully developed, yet, but maybe he’ll get a chance later. I figure if he isn’t a Were, he’s at least aware of ’em, considering his professional level of snoopiness. 😉

  2. I’m liking this Eddie character- though maybe not as a neighbor. Great banter, too!

    I am also a hoarder of words. I never throw anything away because I’ve been known to “repurpose” them from time to time!

    • Good fences make good neighbors, Christina—and Eddie knows all the good fences. 😉

      “Repurposing” sounds so much better than “semantic cannibalism”. 😀

  3. Love Eddie already–but the truth is, you had me at larcenous patina. I dig that in a secondary character too (or in an MC, but this isn’t that kind of book either ;)).

    I hope your EDJ is kinder to you this week!

  4. I’m a word hoarder too. I have a document with all the embarrassing garbage I cut out of my first Russian historical, which is about 99% of the original sections of the first 7 chapters from 1993. It’s terrible and cringe-worthy, but I didn’t want those words deleted like they’d never been.

    I love the back and forth between them, and the name of the restaurant.

    • It’s nice sometimes to look back as see how far you’ve come, though, right?

      Thanks, Carrie-Anne. The Poisson has appeared in a lot of my MSs and WIPs, whenever I need a fancy-schmancy place. 😀

  5. “The hubcap,” huh? A perfect little detail of how sad a shape that car is in.

    My NaNo is slowing, too. I blame the holidays. I’ve already met with two separate groups of friends and one part of my family to celebrate, and all this present finding, wrapping, and exchanging takes up time. Especially when the cats help with the wrapping…

  6. I’m with you re: the stuffing knocked out feeling. It seems like very time I carve out some time to write a new drama unfolds to keep me from it. As a consequence, I am filled with The Christmas Crabby.

    Great excerpt, though!

  7. This little snippet made me snicker! Very fun dialogue! 🙂

    I’m also a word hoarder. I do my writing for bigger projects in Scrivener, which means I can snapshot different versions of the same file. Never cut anything forever! At least not until publication time. 🙂

    Thanks so much for sharing!

Talk to me!

