Weekend Writing Warriors: Odd Duck (Bait and Switch)

We WriWa bannerHave a WIP, an EIP, an MS, or a published work you want to share on your blog, eight sentences at a time?

Want to sample other people’s WIPs, EIPs, MSs, or published works, eight sentences at a time?

Be a Weekend Writing Warrior!

Rules are here!

List of participants is here!

________

Or if you’re a fellow Facebook addict (we can quit any time we want to, right?),
why not check out the offerings of the Snippet Sunday gang?

________

Last week, our hero Tom discovered that the wealthy client he thought he was going to meet had been switched with Leda Swanson, with whom he has a history.

I’ve taken out one sentence between that bit and this, because it’s only Tom agreeing with Leda that it is him.

It was either that or take out the maître d, and I kind of like what he does for the pacing.

Bait and Switch 2

“Have you replaced the previous Mrs. Featherton?” I asked.  “Or is there some other reason you’re here and she isn’t?”

The maître d cleared his oiled throat and stalked discreetly away.

“Imogen is a friend,” Leda said, lowering her lashes. “I asked her to make the appointment for me; I didn’t think you would meet with me if I called.”

“Why wouldn’t I?” I asked, sliding into the seat opposite hers. “Your money is as good as anyone else’s.”

She blinked, as if indifference was a reaction that had never occurred to her.

________

It’s possible that Leda thinks she’s the female lead in The Maltese Falcon.  It’s also possible that she didn’t watch the whole movie . . .

40 thoughts on “Weekend Writing Warriors: Odd Duck (Bait and Switch)

  1. Seems she thinks she’s all that and a bag of fish but Tom thinks a bit differently — or is trying to convince her that he does. Either way, it’s a great snippet — I’m really enjoying these characters.

  2. She sounds like the kind of person who wants to model their love life on Romeo and Juliet, because the story was *so* romantic, forgetting they were a bit stupid and ended badly. I can already tell he’s going to have his hands full dealing with her–he might need to add a ‘drama surcharge’ to her invoice.

    • That used to drive me crazy in high school and college: Romeo and Juliet isn’t a romance, it’s a tragedy of errors and a horrible warning against the stupidity of blood feuds and hormones.

      And yeah, I’d charge her extra, too. 😀

  3. hahahaha I like her reaction to his statement. You don’t have to like someone to do business with them. Great snippet, Sarah. 😀

Talk to me!

