Random Thursday : Surprisingly Random

Random Thursday (ˈrandəm ˈTHərzdā): the day on which Sarah plunks down all the odd bits and pieces she’s been sent by friends or has otherwise stumbled upon this week in an effort to avoid writing a real post, the assembly of which usually ends up taking twice as much time as sitting down and creating actual content.

This post is dedicated to Kev, whose relentless dedication to sending me the weirdest dang stuff is truly astonishing, and to firstmausi, who always brightens my day no matter what she sends my way.

And to my husband, whom you may blame for the fourth item down.  Heaven knows I do.

____________________________________

Is Worth Two Passes with Spellcheck

Bird Triangle

See it?

Let me know in the comments.

oooooooooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooooooooo

Been There, Done That

You know those Pumgo stairmaster-bicycle-scooters that are the Must Have for coordinated exercise addicts on the go?

That concept is so 1910.

Behold:

1910 Pedal Skates

Pedal Skates.

I’m nearly certain that this gentleman is using them because they’re fun,
not because they work his hamstrings.

Frankly, I find that a much better motivation for using either one of these contraptions in public.

oooooooooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooooooooo

There are many versions of Leonard Cohen’s “Hallelujah” and I’ve heard a lot of them over the years.

I’m partial to the respective performances by Leonard CohenJeff Buckley, and also Tim Minchin and Geraldine Quinn.  Because Tim Minchin.

But a friend sent me the version embedded below, with the subject heading, “Wait for it.”

I’ve learned to trust her, so I listened while I did some editing.  I thought it was passable enough and wondered vaguely which former boy band had gathered together to sing it . . .

Until 2:05.  When I dropped my gum.
On my manuscript.  And didn’t care.

Don’t skip ahead.  You will be rewarded.

He’s Kurt Nilsen.

Turns out, he won World Idol some years back—his talent beat Kelly Clarkson’s legs by a fair number of points.

If that isn’t a sincere tribute to the quality and power of his voice, I don’t know what is.

oooooooooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooooooooo

This Isn’t What You Think It Is

It isn’t what anyone thinks it is.

Staggering Beauty

Click the image, heed the warning, and follow the directions.

Then come back and tell me what the #$%% just happened.

oooooooooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooooooooo

Salavador Dali and his Anteater

Salvador Dalis Anteater

The only thing surprising is the total lack of surprise.

oooooooooooooooooOOOOOooooooooooooooooo

You Want ACTUAL Staggering Beauty?

Let Sergei Polunin take you to church.

(thanks, ‘mausi!)

12 thoughts on “Random Thursday : Surprisingly Random

    • Oh . . . WOW. To both!

      I tried to find the sheet music to this yesterday, while Jane had her flute lesson. After scouring the blues and rock sections, the clerk found it . . . in a Shrek soundtrack book.

      I’m not sure how i feel about that, really.

  1. Considering my skills on roller skates and bikes, I’m quite sure those old-timey contraptions and the new version would be a terrible idea. It might be a funny few seconds, though.

    Why not take an anteater for a walk? Other than the lack of a proper leash, it seems to be going well in the picture.

    • It’s always funny until someone breaks an ankle! 🙂

      Any anteater owned by Mr. Dali probably learned to go with the flow early on. 😀

  2. It’s embarrassing how many times I had to read that first thing to figure it out. As for that black thing, I think it’s some sort of attempt at inducing seizures, or, at the very least, some sort of mind control.
    Also, THANKS ‘MAUSI.

    • I stared at it a long time, too, Dee. 🙂

      I’m sure it’s mind control. I’m just hoping that stops at making me share it with others . . .

      And seriously, yes, thanks, ‘mausi. 😀

Talk to me!

